Discover: Cailynn’s Playlist, Feb. 1-7

By Cailynn Beck, Contributor

I have finally dipped into my Discover Weekly playlist by Spotify again. I typically don’t look in here much, but I have recently been listening to better music, so I figured Spotify would hook me up with an even greater selection.

 

  1. N.A.S.A – “The People Tree”

I have never heard of N.A.S.A (the band… I’m not an idiot) before but as I did my research on this group, and more specifically the album which this song is featured on, I realized a lot of different artists were featured in this album like M.I.A, David Byrne (who is in “The People Tree”), Karen O, Kanye West, Tom Waits, Lykke Li, Z-Trip, RZA, Scarface, and many more. This is a great R&B/alternative album and has overall a pretty decent rating by various listeners and reviews.

  1. Dâm-Funk – “Free”

This number is a lengthy funk-tronic instrumental with a repetitive melody that is perfect background noise when you are studying or doing homework. Anybody that’s a fan of Quasimoto, J Dilla, MF Doom, or Madlib can get behind Dâm-Funk’s sound. I’m impressed, so far, with his work.

  1. Pretty Girls Make Graves – “Speakers Push the Air”

Listening to this my first time listening to twee-indie-rock. Although it isn’t necessarily “twee,” it carries a very old 90s indie rock feeling. It’s got great, fun lyrics that you want to shout through a microphone and crowd surf.

  1. Serengeti – “Doctor My Own Patience”

This song consists of repetitive lyrics that are mildly depressing, however the instrumentals and synths in this song are awesome, especially as the song progresses and they crescendo more and more. I did some research on Serengeti and was really amazed to read that he—David Cohn—is actually a hip-hip artist. As I continued to research more, I realized he is “Geti” from Yoni & Geti (he collaborated with Yoni Wolf from the band WHY?), which I feel like is something that could be easily connected. If you’re a fan of any of Yoni Wolf’s music, you’d definitely love Serengeti’s “Doctor My Own Patience” album.

  1. The Walkmen – “We’ve Been Had”

Ah, yes, this is a mixture between Jack’s Mannequin and Arctic Monkeys, for sure. Something about the mood of this song makes me feel nostalgic, especially the title of the album that it’s from, “Everyone Who Pretended To Like Me Is Gone.” If you miss your old intro-to-indie-bands-phase, definitely check out this band.

  1. Sleater-Kinney – “Modern Girl”

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this, as I am biased and have an affinitive love for Carrie Brownstein and all that she does. In all honesty, though, this song is a peaceful lo-fi listen and I recommend it to everyone.

  1. Air France – “Collapsing in Front of Your Door”

This song did something to me emotionally and I’m not quite sure why. It could’ve been the sample or the beautiful sound of the flute, but it did something and I feel like anybody that likes instrumental songs with a lot of sampling (i.e. The Avalanches), then they’d definitely enjoy this song specifically.

  1. The Flaming Lips – “She’s Leaving Home (feat. Phantogram, Julianna Barwick, and Spaceface)”

This is the coolest cover of any Beatles song I’ve ever heard. I love the female vocals and the electronic beats that are added in with it. If we’re being honest, I think this is even better than the original song, which is saying a lot.

  1. Aphex Twin – “Milkman”

Honestly, I just think of David Firth’s video that goes along with this song. If you don’t know who David Firth is, he created Salad Fingers. I hope that is a good enough explanation of what this song is like.

  1. Octagon – “Earth People”

Dr. Octagon is known for his eccentric, abstract lyrics. If you’re into 90s rap that tells a bizarre story in the process, you’re looking for Dr. Octagon. This song is the epitome of just that.

Leave a Reply

