Discover: Jon’s Playlist, Nov. 2 – Nov. 8

By Jonathan Fuchs, Contributor

For people like me who rarely use Spotify, Discover Weekly is a really weird experience. Because of my lack of activity, Spotify thinks I like acoustic pop that acts as the soundtrack for YouTube “pranksters” who just harass women on the street.

The Diamonds in the Rough:

“Afterglow” by Wilkinson – As soon as the song started, I immediately held my head in my hands in pure embarrassment in the terrible lyrics. But as soon as I heard the faint sound of drums, I knew that this was going to be good, and as soon as the song dropped, I couldn’t stop dancing. Good dance track all around.

“Ulay, Oh” by How I Became the Bomb – This band reminds me a lot of The Flaming Lips if they kept their sound from Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots. It had some interesting synths and drums, and everything sounded really nice and smooth.

“Cavalier” by James Vincent McMorrow – This was probably the best song I listened to on this playlist, which makes sense because James Vincent McMorrow was one of the only names I could recognize. His high-pitched vocals were smooth and relaxing and his synths were brilliant. The drums also had effects that were hard to describe but very nice to listen to. This and How I Became the Bomb are most likely the only two artists I’ll go back to.

Close But No Cigar:

“Made for You” by Alexander Cardinale – This sounded fine, but it was like literally everything I’ve ever heard on the radio. If I didn’t know the artist, I would’ve thought this was Phillip Phillips or whoever else is relevant.

“Overload (The Chainsmokers Remix)” by Life of Dillon – For those who don’t remember, The Chainsmokers are responsible for the song “#Selfie” that went viral because it was terrible, so I groaned when I saw their name. The rhythms on the song were interesting and the melodies were nice, but its repetitive style got pretty boring.

“I Do” by Holley Maher – The lyrics on this song were pure garbage, but the vocals were pleasant enough to encourage me to not just skip to the next song. I also really liked the production on the guitar, pianos and drums.

“It’s Just a Prank, Bro”:

“I’m Still Here” by Benjy Davis – The beginning of this song was great; I loved the vocals and guitar, and his melody was nice. Then the chorus kicked in, and for a second I thought that a random tab on my laptop was playing a trailer to a John Green movie. The cheesy lyrics made me sick and its way too clean production made me stop the song before it ended.

“Paradise (On Earth)” by Cris Cab – I have a feeling that Spotify hates me because this has some of the worst singing I’ve ever heard in my life. It sounded like if Adam Levine caught a head cold before a live show. This was generic, boring and just plain awful.

“Jackpot” by Jocelyn Alice – I really can’t tell the difference between unknown female pop singers and this song is the perfect example. From the bland singing and god-awful instrumentation, I would’ve thought this was Halsey or Tove Lo or some other singer we’re all going to forget about in five years.

“You Got Me” by Gavin DeGraw – My sister loves Gavin DeGraw, and because this terrible song was made for the freaking DOLPHIN TALE 2 SOUNDTRACK, I will never know why. The singing was boring, the production was way too loud, and the lyrics were laughable. I guess I’ll never understand, sis.

Leave a Reply

